Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys newbie here, I replaced the spark plugs in my bike but after I put the fuel tank back tried to start it but no go. Tank off tried a used plug from ones I’d taken out but nothing the motor turns over no problem but testin to see if the plug sparks by putting it on the engine to complete the spark circuit but no spark ? Any help from here on would be greatfully appreciated better still if anybody close by could nip round and help me out then that would be a big bonus and just to tempt you the bike is indoors and not in the cold. I’m in Shepshed no Loughborough ....thanks in anticipation

·
Registered
204 Posts
I suspect you may have disturbed a connection somewhere when you were swapping out the plugs.
Did it run fine pre plug change or did you have issues before hand ?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No it ran fine apart from a slight misfire so all I did was replace the plugs and coil packs but now no spark with the old plugs or new ones nor with old or new coil packs. It’s baffled me totally KevA I’m desperate to get it done with my non advanced knowledge..

·
Registered
287 Posts
I don't normally help much with zx6's as I've never had one, zx-9r's are more my thing, though I do have a Haynes manual for the 6's.
After looking at the wiring diagram and my experience on the zx-9r's and from what you've said, the first place to check is the ignition switch plug and check the contacts are clean and free from corrosion, then check the righthand switching unit plugs, then pick up coil plug probably under the carbs near the clutch cover, check the ECU plugs and if everything of those does not fix it you will need to start doing resistance checks, through the ignition switch and kill switch, as any resistance in these 2 things can give no spark. If you need picture guides on these resistance checks you can find them at zx9r.net.

·
Registered
6 Posts