Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I don't post much but I have no idea what to do with this.
Engines making a horrible rattle/clatter once over 4500rpm, I won't dare rev it any higher than 6000rpm.
It's turning over and idling smoothly but the noise it too scary, I think it's not detrimental but I'm no mechanic.
It seems to be around the cam chain or front of the engine but I can't be sure.
Here's a short vid

Ive had this bike about 8 years, 2 years ago I took it off the road as it started to make this noise and I've been trying to fix it ever since. Its clocked 70k+ miles.

A little background story on it -
2 years after I got the bike the engine developed a rod knock so I replaced it with a similar miled one, that's what's fitted now and had been ok for a good few years but would overheat and cut out now and then, hard to restart.

Carbs have since been cleaned, replaced filters valves and jets etc and diaphragms replaced as they had shrunk. Fuel mix settings are fine and they seem to be well in sync. Then I discovered the tank was leaking and so I went through the whole Kreem scenario. Seemed to work.
I put my big boy pants on and did a valve adjustment too, thinking that's a cause of the hard start. But i fudged up the cam fitting due to some confusion with the manual - I redid the whole job and got it right second time, running ok- in fact it was good and strong,responsive (pow pow)I was really happy...

Soon after, a mate passed his test... as a favour i lent him this one and got a newer bike for myself, I was considering upgrade anyway.

He complained about cutting out still and high temp so I checked again and found melted wiring on the ground runs, fixed. the fan connector had got all crappy causing the overheating.
He filled it with super diesel twice - i'll not rant about that.
We had done a few good trips together and it was ridden most days.