Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
I am new at this side of the forum but have a few posts in 7R forum as I have built my ZX7/10R using D7F motor & architecture

now I would really appreciate your thoughts - I am experiencing the "will not rev past...." problem as described in the title without any fault code shown on a display

basically my bike will not:
1) rev past approx. 9000 rpm while in standstill in neutral
2) rev past 4000 rpm while on the move - it just dies and doesn't come back to life until revs are not down to approx. 2000 rpm
3) it's not showing any fault codes; I used to get FI code 25 - gear position sensor - cured by replacing the sensor
4) I have by-passed side stand switch - no cure of the problem
5) I have replaced spark plugs as there seemed to be a problem with one while cold starting - no cure

any ideas? experienced similar problem?

Milos

·
6,623 Posts
A few thoughts:

Throttle body sync
Inadequate grounds (you need frame, subframe, engine, harness and fuel pump)
Coil sticks input voltage
Coil pickup ohms and fluctuation
Fuel pressure
Intake air or exhaust restrictions

Spray carb cleaner on the pipes when running to see if you have a dead cylinder.

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
57x - thanks for your thoughts

I have decided to concentrate on fuel pump & inadequate grounds at first because when I have put my bike on a paddock stand, engaged into 1st gear and tried to rev the engine past 4000 rpm - it passed 4000 without any hiccup, no hesitation at all

therefore I have drained the tank and I am going to pull the fuel pump out to see whether there is any blockage
I will also check all circuit grounding points for any corrosion or other fault

let's see what happens next ;-)

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I have finally got to the bottom of the fuel pump - filter was incredibly clogged up !!!

I have 2 more questions for you guys: