Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've been riding for a few years now. I have a 05 ZX6R at the moment.

I'm hoping someone can explain WHY bikes backfire (usually on roll-off) after you've modded the exhaust (added a slip-on \\ full system \\ race air filter etc..).

Here's what I think I know at the moment (correct in line as appropriate):

1. When you mod you bike with a race exhaust (more free flowing than stock), there is less resistance to the exhaust gasses, so the gasses exit the engine faster.

2. For some reason (help me here), the faster flowing race exhaust causes (more?) unburnt fuel to be pulled into the exhaust, and this ignites causing the backfire.

Depending on who you speak to, adding a race exhaust causes the bike to run either more lean, or more rich. By this, I think (?) what people mean is that the engine is running leaner, but the exhaust richer, because fuel that should be in the piston cylinders, is now being pulled into the exhaust and burnt there instead (hence the backfire).

Is this correct?

My Questions:

A) What I don't understand is why adding a freer flowing exhaust causes more fuel to be pulled into the exhaust. Engine timing is still the same. Valve timing (&overlap) is still the same?....

B) Also, in order to 'cure' backfiring, almost everyone (on an FI bike) adds a power commander and sets it to run richer (to cure the lean engine mixture). The same problem that's causing fuel to be pulled into the exhaust will still be there, so making the mixture richer should make the backfire problem worse?

Yours,

Confused.

·
Registered
990 Posts
Exhaust leaks