Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to riding and I just bought a '07 black ZX6R on Friday with 0 miles and what do you guys/gals do to keep cool. I had my helmet, jacket and gloves on and when I was doing riding for the first time ever on Friday and took my gear off I was soaked that's how hot I was. I don't want to take my jacket off cause I'm a new rider. What do you riders do. Thanks

·
Registered
188 Posts
get a mesh jacket with armor for hot weather riding, make sure you have a helmet that flows good air and wear mesh gloves, dont be a squidiot and wear a t-shirt

·
Registered
443 Posts
I check the weather first before trying to ride. If the forecast is going be upper 90s with high humidity, then I try to avoid riding during peak high temps time like around 12:00 PM till around 5:00 PM or 6:00 PM.

I like to ride as much I can but there comes a point when its just plain to fuck!ng hot too ride and it becomes dangerous if you force yourself on it. If the weather is not cooperating...take a car :smile

·
Registered
5 Posts
I would try to make your route to your destination require the least amount of stopping and slow speeds. I ride my MX bike with full gear on in 90 degree weather all the time and he only time I feel hot is if I stop moving.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have a mesh jacket with leather gloves and I'm a new rider so I haven't been riding far. I have been riding mostly late in the day like 6-7pm but just still so hot. My bike is also like 220 degrees so I know that's not a big help but I'll learn to deal with it. Thanks and be safe out there.

·
Registered
64 Posts
i wear football (soccer) jerseys umder my jacket. They dry off fast as hell while cotton t-shirts have you looking (and feeling) like a wet dog

·
Registered
526 Posts