Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need help taking the front rim off. If there is a guide to doing this I would greatly appreciate it if you posted it up. I have searched around and cant come up with anything. I have a general idea of how to do it, but I dont want to mess anything up. Arnt the forks under constant pressure. Will they come apart if I take the wheel off? It might be a stupid ? but I work on cars not bikes for right now and my knowledge is minimal. I found a place that will straighten my rim out so I might not have to buy a new one! Any help will be appreciated, thanks in advance.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I am no pro...

Someone correct me if I am wrong. But for starters you will need something to get your bike off of the ground (e.g. stand). Then as for your fork question...your forks will only travel so far; they will not come apart. You will have to remove your brake calipers, and I believe that should be it. Then all that is left is your wheel lug. After that, I am guessing since you are getting your wheel straightened that you will need to take your rotors off of your wheel. Let me know how it goes, and for anyone reading this...correct me if I am wrong, because I am no pro.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Yah just get the front of the bike off the ground with a stand or hoist wrapped around the handle bars........Take off your brake calipers....take off the the nut on the wheel......Use something to gently pound the axle out of the wheel. To put back on just do it in reverse but here are a couple of tips because of things I have run into in the past.

When you take the calipers off you might need to pry the brake pads in to remove it. When You re-install them press the front brake lever until it is firm again. I forgot to do this once and didnt have my front brakes when I needed them going down the road. It was almost scary.