Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey im having a little dilema i have a 07zx6r with K&N, pc 3, yosh pipe, but im debating weather or not I should put on a chain and sprocket. The reason why im hesitating to put it on is becasue my buddy who works on bikes says that theyre not good for your engine and that it can help blow your engine up. My other buddy says that i really need it for acceleration which i would like but damn:banghead. I dont really want to mess my bike up so let me here what all you guys think who have more experience or who are bike mechanics. :rofl

·
Registered
228 Posts
I would heartily recommend having a chain and sprocket otherwise the engine is not connected to the rear wheels and it will rev a bit freely :rotflmao .

But I assume you mean you wish to change the sprockets to alter the bikes acceleration and top speed. I am not an expert at this but as the engine is only doing the same revs (the back wheel speed will of course be altered due to a differing ratio) I can not see how a change of sprockets can damage your engine assuming they're fitted right of course.
Only thing to take into account is that your speedo will no longer read correct (assuming it ever did) and if this is important to you you will need to fix a calibration box to adjust the speedo accuracy (easier than it sounds).

Hope this sheds some light, I dare say you will get some expert opinion as well.

·
Registered
151 Posts
I would heartily recommend having a chain and sprocket otherwise the engine is not connected to the rear wheels and it will rev a bit freely :rotflmao .