Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post on the forum, so bare with me. :eek:hno
I started riding streetbikes back in '02, starting off on a ex250 which I still have today. Not a bad bike to start off on at all. Even at my size(6'0 @ 250) I was still able to have some fun on it, and learn a lot about riding. Now I was going to step up to the ZX-6 because the 250 just isn't enough for me anymore. After talking with my dad(he's a harley guy) about it, he talked me into getting a liter bike since I would probably end up unhappy with the 6r after a while with my size and all. (I rode my uncle's older cbr 1000 and felt comfortable)
This past weekend we hit up a show in Ny that had every vendor there. Sitting on all of the liter bikes, I instantly fell in love with the ZX10. And that blue color is sexy...

So I did some pricing(insurance,etc.) and found I would never be able to afford this bike with the current bills I have now.. Auto loan, etc. We're talking around 3k a year with full coverage. But I WANT IT NOW lol.
So, I have decided to take out a home equity loan to take care of my car loan and be able to buy the bike outright without financing. Which in essence will DRASTICALLY lower the insurance rates.(no need for full coverage)

All in all, I'm just wondering if anyone else has been in this type of situation. Any thoughts or suggestions are greatly appreciated, thanks for your time.

G

·