Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, Im a beginner looking to buy a new bike.
Im 6"1 210 LBS 13 shoe size.
I kinda have my eyes on the zx-6R.
Is the ninja zx-6R a pretty good handling bike for a beginner of my hight and weight.
Another question i have is do you have to be a mechanic to own a bike? How much maintanance does a ninja need?
If i buy a new bike, do bikes tip over easly, can the wind tip the bikes over, cuz i hear alot of people say its better to buy a used bike than a new one cuz your going to tip it over. I dont plan on being careless if i buy a new bike.
Thanks everyone for your replys.

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Hey clutch;

Let me offer my $.02

The 6R is an excellent choice for a beginner sport bike. It all depends on what you are looking to get out of the bike though. If you just want to get familiar with riding, and start out slow, then the 6R might be a little too much for you.

I know guys that have been riding for years that never take their 6R to its potential. I know for sure that I don't take my 10R anywhere near where it can go. As far as height and weight... I'm 6'6" and 230lbs, and I fit fine on my 10. The 6 isn't much different in ride height and riding position, so you should be fine.

If you are looking for something sporty to give you the feel of riding so you can get used to it, I would suggest the 650R. It's essentially the same bike, with a more upright riding position, with less torque and top end.

As far as bikes tipping over easily... I've never had mine blown over by the wind, and it's never been knocked over, so take that for what it is worth.

Again, just my thoughts on the subject, and others may contradict me, but I hope I've been able to help you a bit.

Again, welcome aboard.

G

·