Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
its a simple question but im new to bikes so i need advise from people who know.... what oil and filter do you guys recomend? when i first got my 99 zx6r i bought a oem filter but my brother had a k&n but ive seen oil filter studys and k&n filters bad but flows well.

·
Registered
116 Posts
stock oil filters w/ a quality synthetic is my choice.

No matter what you choose DO NOT USE PARAFIN based oils ie: Valvoline.

I've used Spectro Golden, Royal Purple, Mobile 1 in my race bikes with no ill effects to report. Good luck finding anything other than opinions when it comes to motor oils. I've searched everywhere to find a non-biased report(s) with no avail. Pick your color and stick with it. Just my .02 worth.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Read this:

http://motorcycleinfo.calsci.com/Filters.html#OilFilters

My first oil change, which I did myself, I used a Mobil-1 filter and Maxima dino oil. The second change, which was done at my 600 mi service, used a Kawi stock filter and Kawichem oil. My next change, which will probably be around 1500 (I did my "600" kind of late) will be probably a Purolator filter and Maxima full synthetic.

Make sure if you use "car" oil that it is NOT "energy conserving" as those kinds of oils cause clutch slippage.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Depending on the mileage on your bike (assume you have more than 5K) please use synthetic. Filters?? Any good name brand is good. As long as you are relegiously change both at 3K you wont have any problems

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)
dont your mean advice?