Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Monday im picking up my 1st bike and im wondering what you're opinions are on the best helmets, im ok spending 200-300$ but id rather not spend 500+ You guys can rate ur favorite by comfort and style if you like.
Also apparel like jackets and gloves and all that.

·
Registered
333 Posts
Congrats on your first bike remember to be safe and all that jazz
I would definitely recommend spending that bit more on a nicer helmet, I got a shoei rf1000 when I started riding and still wear it and its a lot more comfortable then the cheaper ones ive tried and helmets last so its a good investment I would say. Mine was only like 350 I think and I like it more then the 250 range ones but Im not sure if like the 500+ arai's are really worth that.
Depending where you're from you'll probably want a leather jacket and a mesh one for hot days. I like Alpinestars, name brand but still pretty affordable. But again I would say pick something on the fact that youll wear it for years since thats how its turned out for me.
hope that helps

·
Registered
5,380 Posts
I personally can't bring myself to spend more the $150-200 on a helmet, because as soon as you have a collision and it scrapes the pavement, it's done for. I've had two. the one i wore in my accident was a Z1R Phantom. It was a little heavy, but it was nice an comfy, not much for vents, and was a little noisy. It also held up well in my crash. I replaced that with a scorpion exo-700. Much better vents, looks to have better areo and the anti-fog shield is going to be a godsend. Can't wait to try it out.

As for leathers, get yourself a full set and wear them. You never know when a deer is going to be standing in your line as you come around a blind turn going way too fast, and when it happens, you'll be glad you had it, I know I was.