Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well ive been riding dirt bikes for a while and took a msf riders course about 2 years ago. I just bought a 95 zx9r from a guy my father worked with, original owner and his co-worker was his mechanic. Im a auto mechanic myself so i was wondering what i should do maintance wise to is. It has 14,5xx miles an has been sitting since September/October last year. The bike took a couple trys to start but did. I smoked for about 2 mins out the exhaust but then subsited. It idles around 1,000-1,200 rpms and is steady. If you turn the throttle to around 3xrpms it stays for a second then drops down. Im thinking the carbs are a little dirty. I was going to change the oil, air filter, clean and lube the chain, and try some fuel cleaner to see if that works. Anything else i should do? Coolant?, brake fluid? (pads still have meet). Also i just replied to a thread about service manuals. Does anyone still have one i can download? I asked him about the maintance an he said he would bring it to his friends house (the mechanic) every few months. He doesnt really know what he was getting done haha.
Btw i paid $1,900 for it. Its a marron color in great shape cosmeticly, motor didnt have any knocks or rattles, and the bike idled for about 10-15 minutes and never overheated or anything.
Thanks
Chris

·
Registered
3,881 Posts
Good deal and good price.
Change all fluids and filters , fuel filter too.
Clean the carbs.
Synch em up.
I have an FSM give me an email and I"ll send you it in pdf.
14.5k is super low mileage, bout half of what my 96 has on it.
You found a cherry though, take care of her and you'll have a great bike.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3