1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have an 08 zx6r
So it has...
The headers-mid pipe-pipe- two bros can

I really want to paint the mid pipe and the pipe connecting the muffler.

It looks so ugly . Bike is all blue and black and this huge ugly pipe coming up the tail!

I want to paint the two pipes black

I have no experience in painting so any advice/ opinions would be greatly appreciated on how to do this!?!
Thanks!!!

·
Premium Member
15,095 Posts
Have it ceramic coated. Paint will flake off and will also promote rust.

·
16,062 Posts
Rustoleum and a roller.

J/K.

Ceramic coat is #1.
Cheapo option is high heat engine paint. I think it's gloss.
Cheap bastard option is BBQ paint. Usually flat.
the BBQ paint doesn't cure until it gets hot. Even when it's dry, you can scrape it off with a fingernail before it's heated and baked on.
If you go that route, just be careful not to scratch it up while putting it back on the bike.

·
Premium Member
4,338 Posts
Or another option could be to heat wrap it, just an option if you don't feel confident enough to paint.

·
Premium Member
15,095 Posts
Header wrap traps in moisture and rusts the pipe.

·
Premium Member
15,095 Posts
I still say ceramic coat it. Keep your butt temps down.

·
Premium Member
15,095 Posts
So what about when you wash the bike? Does that not get water in the wrap?

·
Registered
427 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,338 Posts
Also could always get it powder coated with some high heat powder.
I know the powder I have is good up to 1200 degrees

·
Registered
841 Posts
I had my Muzzy header, midpipe, and can professionally ceramic coated, it's sort of a satin black. Looks real good, and has worn well. I think it was about $300.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Is this something id be able to do on my own?
Would this be what I want?
[ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000CPJLGM?ie=UTF8&ref=aw_bottom_links&force-full-site=1[/ame]