Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry for the double post, as I have this posted in the mechanic forum also. I recently bought a 91 zx1100. It only has 5k on it. I rode it a couple times short distances without any problems. It runs like new, but then it died on me while I was coming to a stop and had no juice to start back up. I changed the battery and it started, but after a few minutes, I shut it off and it was dead. I figured it was the alternator after that, so I bought an alt. off of ebay..it was from a 96 zx1100..it is the same part number 21001-1104..looks the same. I put it in myself, but I am no mechanic. It started up and the same thing, I ran it for about 5 minutes and shut it off, and it had no juice to start back up. Lights came on, but it had a clicking noise when i tried to restart it. I noticed there was dried grease on the alt I bought, and the one I took off...is there supposed to be a gasket or grease that goes on when you put the a new alt. on? This has me really upset and any info would be appreciated. Thanx in advance

·
Registered
94 Posts
Hi I had some simular problems with my 94 and it turned out to be the fuse junction box had gone bad. It would start and then sometimes it just didn't want to start at all. I changed out a lot of parts like the kickstand safety switch and the starter relay but it ultimately came down to the fuse junction box being bad, you might want to clean out your sarter switch as well a little WD40 in the little pin hole on the bottom of the switch box. Good luck!

·
Registered
10 Posts