Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems that my bike at lower speeds (50km/h or slower) when it goes over bumps (ie. cracks in the road) tends to 'wobble'. The steering seems to be unstable, but only over bumps, it can go really slow and is fine on smooth surface. Is it possible that the front shocks could cause this? Maybe they have some defect or were improperly installed/tuned? If not, any ideas on why this happens? Im new to bikes (well riding them anyways) but my buddy isn't. He's been riding a few years, and he was the one that really noticed the instability first (he scrubbed my tires for me). I have a 2007 ZX-6R. Any help is appreciated.

Also, I can't take it to a shop to see if this is the case, as I dropped my bike. It's a mystery to me and my buddy who was right behind me. Was coming to a T-intersection, went over a crack and applied the front brake a second later (I didn't exactly notice the crack, this is what we deduced after the fact)
My steering slammed to the left, and I was down on my right a split second later. I didn't lock my front brake... by the scrub on the tire, once the steering slammed to the left, it skid a bit on the side, then left an arched skid going up the rest of the side of the tired. (That's not a good description... but best I can do. It skid for a few feet with the steering fully left, and the bike slightly tilted right, (skid starts off the center line normally used when uprght) then skid as the bike went down. Hope that helps...)
Any ideas on how I managed that crash would be welcomed also. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
4,288 Posts
sounds like your forks have been lowered, so you may need to raise the triple trees

·
Registered
990 Posts
Are your tyre pressures correct?

The first thing I would suspect is that the tyre is overinflated.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·