Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
can anyone please tell me the best way to remove the rear wheel of my 91 zx7.? it looks basic but i figured i would ask before i go and screw something up. also i wanted to take my chain completly off so i can clean it but i can not find a master link. i wouldnt think it would be the original chain. any help at all would be greatly appreciated. im new to bikes so im learning as i go:eek:hno

·
Registered
990 Posts
I assume you have a paddock stand. Get a new split pin or R clip to replace the old one on the axle nut. Once on stand find a suitable piece of wood or similar to place under the tyre, this will make it easier to pull the spindle/axle out & replace the wheel. First remove the brake caliper (& torque arm if it has one) & hang with a piece of wire or string off pillion peg. After that it's a case of taking off the main nut & pulling the axle out & removing brake plate/ spacers as you go. This above is not specific to your bike but a general guide. Check parts diagrams for your bike on http://www.buykawasaki.com/Default.asp?
click on Motorcycle & look up your model, very helpful as you can see all the parts that hold/space the wheel.

When you replace, grease up the axle & also lightly copper grease the brake bolts & between back of pads & pistons.

The chain most likely has a soft link, which is fitted with a chain riveter. Removable links are NOT recommended. You either need to find the link & remove it or remove the swinging arm to get it off. The soft link will need replacing with a new one.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thank you very much, where would i get a new link put on? and does the soft link look different from the rest of them? how do i find it. also whats good to clean a chain with? thank you very much

·
Registered
990 Posts