Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my 1991 zx11 for 18 months and put 18,000 miles on it. Currently at 36,000 miles. About a week ago it started slipping out of second gear or so it would appear. At first I thought it was the chain slipping. I know it is just about at its limit and ready for replacement. Then I thought it might be the clutch, but it only appeared to slip out and back in and out again rapidly. I figured I would eventually lose second gear and just have to shift from first to third so I started riding it that way.
I was riding home at about 70 mph in 6th gear and suddenly I heard a loud popping noise. Being concerned something might lock up and throw me off the bike I pulled the clutch in and coasted to the hard shoulder. The front sprocket had ripped off and tore through the aluminum sprocket cover. The chain is intact. The splines on the shaft from the transmission look OK, but the threads that the nut goseon area bit damaged.
I never tried to start it again in case there is unwanted metal debris in the oil that could do further damage. I can shift through the gears And I can turn the output shaft by hand in neutral and in all gears when the clutch is engaged. When I do so there is not any noticeable binding or unusual resistance. If I disengage the clutch I can't turn the output shaft because of the resistance the engine adds. Is it possible that the sprocket came off for some reason other than the gears locking up. I was initially convinced the gears locked up and snapped the sprocket off since I thought 2nd gear was going out, but now I'm not so sure. What further tests can I do to determine the problem? I understand 1991 models had an issue with 2nd going out and they fixed it on the 1992 model.

·
Registered
900 Posts