Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
HOWTO: ZX6R G1 Front fork refurbishment

Having spent some head scratching and loads of "Googling" to find the answers to removing the fork internals, I thought I'd share what I learnt for those attempting the same.

Please bear in mind that I'm not a mechanic by trade so some of the terminology used may not be correct but the process is correct as I've done it on my bike !

Front fork refurbishment 1998 ZX6R G1

Removal:

*** In the age of modern camera phones, it is a good idea to photgraph everything before you remove / loosen it - it helps when reassembling !! ***

1) Use slings to lift and brace the front of the bike - remove the front wheel.

2) Back off the rebound and compression screws to fully out (Make sure you remember / make note of how many clicks / turns it took)

3) Before removing the forks, loosen the allen bolt that can be accessed from the cavity that normally holds the front axel. It's an allen bolt so TAKE CARE not to round it off !!!

4) Loosen, but do not undo the top fork cap (blue in my pictures on my bike) whilst the stanchion is still gripped by the bike. Use the spanner supplied with your bike.

5) Remove the forks from the bike (take photo / remember how far above the billet the botton of the fork caps sit - in case you've dropped the forks through the head for different geometry)

6) Now remove the (blue) fork cap - this screws into the stanchion so be careful not to damage the stanchion (unless of course its being replaced). Don't worry about parts pinging all over your garage - although this is under a little tension with the spring it is minor and can easily be contained with your hand.

7) Pour the old fork oil out into a container and tip it over your neighbours wall - if you like your neighbour, send it to me and I'll tip it over mine cos he's a dork.