Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having looked at the numerous posts on this and other forums I'm still confused as to if we need to change the fuelling if replacing the standard exhaust. If so what's the best way to address this?

It would be great if as a group we had a clear/concise/correct veiw.

·
Registered
451 Posts
I think most exhaust manufactures make their slip on mufflers to fit without any mods to the ECU or injection etc. The normally get a bike as a test bed and make the muffler to suit with further testing on their Dyno's to ensure that it works without mods. Their is normally a small increase in HP and torque figures. If you want peak performance then you can tweek it with a PC or similar but I think that on the whole you will be able to slip the new muffler on without any other mods.
I am no expert and will stand corrected if someone knows better though.

·
Registered
228 Posts
I'm pretty sure that if you replace the exhaust on a kawasaki the bike will run too lean which can cause engine damage, Thats why a power commander would be needed (or something similar) to allow the mixture to be adjusted. Though please feel free to correct me if you know different.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
2 replies and both different. Any thougts on how we get this confirmed one way or the other.

·
Registered
451 Posts
Like I said, I am no expert but when we (Bagman and I) were talking to the guys from Quill Exhausts, They make their exhausst so that you do not need any mods or adjustments and they can be bolted straight on. You might be better talking directly to the manufacturers of the pipe that you are thinking of bolting on.

·
Registered
4 Posts