Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guru's, here's a question. I've got a couple gasket leaking coolant on the left side looks to be coming from the head gasket and the jug to case gasket. What am I facing here? Obviously new gaskets, but how hard is it to drop the engine and tear her down? I'm new to this whole sport bike thing, hence the question. I figure it can't be much harder than doing a head gasket on a VW or Honda, but I know little about the inner workings of these fancy rockets.

details:
1994 zx7 P model
still has decent compression
no coolant in the oil

·
Premium Member
6,582 Posts
Ok guru's, here's a question. I've got a couple gasket leaking coolant on the left side looks to be coming from the head gasket and the jug to case gasket. What am I facing here? Obviously new gaskets, but how hard is it to drop the engine and tear her down? I'm new to this whole sport bike thing, hence the question. I figure it can't be much harder than doing a head gasket on a VW or Honda, but I know little about the inner workings of these fancy rockets.

details:
1994 zx7 P model
still has decent compression
no coolant in the oil
If you have the factory service manual it's as easy as just following the steps outlined in the manual. The trick is to make sure you properly locate the cams when reassembling everything. On another note, a 94 ZX7 is an L or M (ZX7R). It can't be a P model.

·
Premium Member
6,582 Posts
The ZX7's are notorius for leaking valve cover gaskets. This may even give the illusion that you hav a leaking head or base gasket. You might want to clean everything very thoroughly to make sure of where the leak is located before tear down. I'd hate to see you spend money on gaskets you may not need.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·