Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys i am a newbie to the site which by the way is amazing!!!!! i have been riding for about four years now and i have a problem..... my bike has a stock front sproket and a 45 tooth rear sproket. i have to order a new chain asap as to this one is out of adjustment and this is how i commute to work and home. i have found one i am going to go for but it states that it is a 110 link chain which is mostly the stock length but since the rear sproket is bigger (45 teeth) will that work???? i counted my links and i only came up with 55 now do they double that number since the chain has double links on each side???? any advice would be great and very much apreciated.... i would buy a package deal with both sprokets and chain but money is really tight right now and i had just installed the rear sprocket last october

·
Premium Member
13,206 Posts
You may have to buy a 120-link chain and cut it to the proper length. Take a piece of chalk and mark a link and then count the total number of links to conform the length needed.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i just did a count and i came up with 55 so since they are double links on both sides i am thinking that i need to double that number? am i right ???

·
Premium Member
13,206 Posts
There are inner and outer links, so if you only counted the outer side plates, double that number to get the actual number of links.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·