Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I spent 2 years collecting broken motorcycles and now its time to fix or part them. I got 2 ex250 bikes to make 1, I can only get one to run in full ckoke, as soon as it starts it revs up like its at full throttle, as soon as you back of the choke at all it dies. I have cleaned and changed the carbs 3 times on both sets of carbs and everytime it changes nothing..:rant If I throttle it about half way and pull the choke off i can keep it running at 2000 plus rpm, but if it gets any lower it dies. I cant locate any vacum leaks, and the next time i spill gas taking the tank off for the tenth time i'm just going to light it and push it outside. I am an auto mechanic (chevy) so this bike work is new to me. Any advise? Thanks Joe

·
Registered
785 Posts
Well, I dont want to sound like Capt. Obvious here, but.
It is either not enough fuel OR not enough fire.

What happens if you turn your idle up more to maintain idle?
Will it hold?
This is assuming it is running good at 2000 plus rpm this might
fix your prob.

For the fire end of it,
are you sure you have a full charge on the battery?
At higher rpms all will seem ok, but lower it dies out.
(at least on my Z1s and KZs it will)
Plug gaps fine and jumping good strong spark?
No breakdown in the wires?

Some times its the simple things.
I spent 3 hours once looking at "carb probs" on my 74 900 and
the whole time I had a plug wire off.:banghead
(talk about feeling stupid)

I can feel you pain Bro. Hope it works out for ya, soon too.
"Im just going to light it and push it outside." lol

Good luck.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It was a fuel problem!!!