Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well, a buddy needs help bleeding the brakes on his 06 636. his brakes dont just need bleed a little, they have no pressure at all. what is the best way to get started, i havented looked at it yet, but do the brakes on this bike have bleed screws top and bottom? do you use both? i'm a veteran at bleeding car brakes and go karts, but the motorcycle brakes are new to me, dont want to lead him down the wrong path. we dont have a bleeder pump or anything, so any help/ advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

-jeff

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
If you don't have ma Mityvac pump to suck fluid from the caliper's bleeder, another option is to inject some with a large syringe into the bleeders. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
Oh and there's also the "speed bleeders" option. They have a ball inside that make them working only in the right direction. Prices on the pic below are in CDN $.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
so i need a new fitting?! i cant just fill the resoviour and pump it up, then loosen the bleed screw?

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
...i cant just fill the resoviour and pump it up, then loosen the bleed screw?
Yes, of course you can do it that way with the actual bleeders. The speed bleeders I posted about are just another option that make bleeding the brakes easier. Actual OEM bleeders requires :
1- Build pressure by pumpin lever
2- Hold brake lever
3- Open OEM bleeder
4- torque back OEM bleeder
1- ...
2- ...
3- ...
4- ... etc...

With speed bleeders, you just open it and pump the lever until the reservoir is almost (but not) empty. The spring loaded ball inside make it a one way valve so oil can espace but air can not enter. Same way of bleeding calipers but just easier.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·