Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the motorcycle scene, I am looking at getting a used 2006 Ninja ZX6R with 12k miles on it. Bike looks pretty clean and has a Jardine exhaust. I will be going to take a look at the bike soon, is there anything in specific I should be looking for other then the condition of the sprocket, chain and tires?

·
Registered
88 Posts
ye when you go look at it make sure its 100% cold so you can hear the engine, aftermarket levers and pegs usually means its been dropped. i always check the end of the levers to see if theres any scrapping marks on them. when riding at about 35 put it in 6th and give it full throttle to see if the clutch slips

·
Forum Leaders
19,944 Posts
aftermarket levers and pegs usually means its been dropped
I disagree with this part. Those are some of the most common mods on motorcycles, I wouldn't suspect the bike has been down because of those mods being on there. :dunno

Making sure the engine is cold upon start up is a must though.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Didn't know about the cold start, thanks for the tip! Is the clutch slipping a common issue or something just to check?

·
Registered
497 Posts
I disagree with this part. Those are some of the most common mods on motorcycles, I wouldn't suspect the bike has been down because of those mods being on there. :dunno

Making sure the engine is cold upon start up is a must though.
Mine are all aftermarket, and my bike has never been dropped. I would check for rash on the levers and pegs though.

·
Registered
28 Posts
I already got my bike but I never did the clutch thing. So all you do is put in 6th gear and then just go full throttle and what is suppose to happen?

And put it in 6th and go full throttle after the clutch it out or while your letting the clutch out?

·
Premium Member
4,271 Posts