Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Nice to be able to grab throttle and twist but I guess moderation, I don't do that well. is required when the flies are out.
Anyone think they made a mistake??

·
Registered
30 Posts
I have wondered this too, heh.

There have been a couple of situations in which I have grabbed a handful and gotten a bit more than I expected.... and I am bone stock. But then again I am a newb to these kinda bikes.

·
Registered
262 Posts
nope havent regreted it at all! cheapest mod to get the best torque! DO IT!

·
Quinton Phuckin Tarantino
18,914 Posts
I don't regret it but ... I actually think with removing the flys I actually lost throttle response way down low . Since mine is an 08 the flys opened @ 3k rpm any way I didn't gain a whole lot by there removal .

·
Registered
366 Posts
And I have not pulled mine because it is a 2008. Front end is up more than I want it to so flys are staying in.

·
Registered
937 Posts
Nice to be able to grab throttle and twist but I guess moderation, I don't do that well. is required when the flies are out.
The problem is, the '14 came perfect out of the box. As fun as drag strips are, they are still stock ZX-14 sub-fast speeds and leave the big-boy fast gears snoozing under the covers. We all know the stock '14 party starts when you red line 3rd and snap into 4th. Screaming through 150 with two gears to go is an experience that few on this planet have ever done. If you have a '06/'07 your flies open at 6K. I have an '06. If you have an '08-'11 the flies open at 3K. For fast back roads I'm trolling at 4K in 1st, so hitting 6K and open flies, it takes less then a second. Then its all 6K plus in 2nd, 3rd. I like lots of throttle control in tight turns; feather out mid apex, then roll out when it starts to come up. So for me my flies stay in.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Never a regret. I am only glad I did it. It made a pretty big difference.

·
Registered