Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, so I'm doing some leak down testing on my 1999 ZX9R to find the cause of low compression in one of my cylinders. This is my first time doing a leak down test, so please correct me if I am doing something wrong. Basically none of the cylinders were holding compression from a leak down test on my cold engine. When I opened the regulator on my leak down tester, I could hear and feel all the air going through my intake and exhaust valves (yes, I had the pistons at their respective TDC marks). Is this because my engine is cold? Are the clearances among all the moving parts not tight enough on a cold engine, thus causing air to escape through my valves? Here's some more information that might be helpful:
  • I have a lot of parts removed (radiator, carbs, exhaust, vacuum tubes and switches for the emissions stuff).
  • Cams are properly timed because I set it recently and haven't had the bike running yet.
  • Valves and valve guides have proper clearance. I performed wobble tests on all of them with a dial indicator and all of them were in spec.
  • Valve springs are within spec.
  • The engine has a brand new head gasket.
  • Last time I worked on the bike I checked compression, and these were my results:
    • C1: 80psi
    • C2: 90psi
    • C3: 50psi
    • C4: 90psi
Thank you in advance to anyone who might be able to point me in the right direction.

·
Registered
213 Posts
You haven't got 1 low comp you've got 4 very low comp readings so much so that my first question is when did you do the comp test ?
Before or after the rebuild ? I assume from your post it was after you carried out the work ?

·
Registered
614 Posts