Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had the carbs cleaned right before i parked it for the season last year. Today is the first time i tried to ride it since then, and it wont stay running without the choke almost all the way on. Also if I try to give it any throttle it just dies, unless I quickly go more than just a little way. Do I need to clean the carbs again or is this a spark plug issue or what, any help would be much appreciated. Also has fresh gas and oil. Thanks

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
OK, I asked because they run like crap without the airbox.

Have you rode it? If yes, is it OK once you're going?

I'm no carb expert but have you checked the idle speed? Maybe it is just set so low that it won't idle at all.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I rode for about 20 miles today but i have to leave the choke on and I cant baby the throttle, I have to get on it hard. while im riding i can shut the choke off but when I slow down it will just kill. And in order to take off I have to just ease off the clutch without giving it any throttle or it will die, then once im rolling without the clutch pulled in i have to jump past the first part of the throttle.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Are you getting black smoke out the exhaust. I am no expert but sounds like ignition problem maybe timing or carb is out of adjustment. Clogged fuel system?

·
Registered
28 Posts
i woudl agree my 91 was doing the same thing when i first picked it up and it stopped after i got the carbs cleaned but also check ur idle that was a problem for me 2 ok peace
ryan

·
Registered
65 Posts