Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! Not new to the forum but haven't been on in several years. I have been riding and working on motorcycles for around 10 years. I have owned almost every brand at least once. I recently purchased a cheapo 2000 ZX750 for the cheap price of $125 off copart. It's a stolen recovery bike. It appears that prior to being stolen it was well maintained and cared for. However the thief ruined and trashed it. Painted it black with spray paint ALL OVER, threw on aftermarket LEDs with horrible wiring, drilled screw holes in the frame to avoid getting the right nuts and bolts and was holding it all together with electrical tape. The mirrors are on the wrong sides and held on with tape. Overall the thief abused the bike horribly. That's how it ended up at Copart where I got it for $125 as everyone I guess was afraid of the damage.

I plan to rebuild it to use as my ride for the upcoming season as it appears I won't be done with my Super Blackbird build by Spring. Attached are some pictures of how I got it and the progress so far.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I started off tearing it down to see what all needs replaced. Sadly I'll have to replace all fairings as they are spray painted and all cracked. They were held together by screws, nails, bolts, zip ties, glue, rubber bands, strings and rivets. The thief wasn't too bright.

The mirrors were on the wrong sides and held in spot with tape.

The gas tank cap was held on by electrical tape only.

The thief spray painted everything on this bike. Including the frame and forks. Look at the difference from scrubbing with remover vs what the rest looks like.

I cut out all the old wiring and started repairing the harness. This will take a while.