Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,
I just did the first change of the engine and final drive oil. Having read some concerns about the amount of metal in the oils, I thought I'd writes a few words down. I've been mechanicking for about 22 years now, and have done oil changes on everything from Yugo's to Ferrari's, from brand new to over 500,000 miles (1972 Toyota Celica). Many engine rebuilds as well. So I've seen a couple of quarts of used oil.
There was, as we all would expect to see, metal in both the engine and final drive oil. The amount was no more than I expected to see. Heavier in the drive oil, but that should be expected as well. I didnt see anything to cause concern. Hopefully all of your changes look the same, and dont cause you any worry either. Fine dust-like powder is fine, it is LARGE particles or chunks that should have you dialing your dealer.
I used synthetic in both cases, as I have done with every new machine I have ever had; here's why. I actually participated in a study about 20 years ago, comparing synthetic oil with conventional oil, as well as some of the teflon additives (which we KNOW we wont tread near!) Two brand new BMW 320i's were drained of their factory fillers, then driven normally for 50k miles. The oil was changed every 3k miles (cant remember filter interval for Beemers...) in both cars. Both were driven by employees of California based "Oil Changer, Inc", and swapped weekly. After 50k miles had elapsed, the engines were completely disassembled and EVERY component was measured, weighed, mic'd, etc. The car running the conventional oil showed wear consistent with it's mileage (average). The synthetic oil car was different. MUCH less wear (wish I still had the measurements). It was basically still new. Viscosity breakdown was also almost non-existent for the synth. Mobil 1 didnt start saying their oil was good for 5-6k miles until after this.