Kawasaki Ninja ZX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone.
I'm new to this and hope that maybe I could get some advise. I have a 98 ZX7R that I just got done some major work to. I am at the point of starting it but from what I can tell I have no spark to the plugs.! I bought the bike with a spun rod bearing and I have fixed that but I don't know if there was any problems with the bike besides what I had done to it. I have a manuel but it does not go into much detail. I have checked my coils and I have the correct ohms sOmething like 2.5 to 3.5. I also have to jump the starter relay to get the engine to turn over but no spark. I read a little bit and there are diags from bad alternator rectifiers to bad ignition switches and even bad coils. One thing I did notice is that the connector for the alternator is melted and when I have the key on the plug comming from the harness has power on both wires? That's not supposed to to be. Correct? There is a list of small issues with this bike but for now I would like to see If I can get it started. All the help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,761 Posts
well i have a few ideas, it could be several without any other info and the fact you just did a major task such as removing the motor. If we were in a perfect world and everything was assembled right. There are a few components that if failed would cause your issue. The fuel pump relay is tied into every aspect of the ignition system as well as the ic igniter. but if you left something disconnected...

·
Registered
1,761 Posts