no headlights high/low everything else works!!! *SEARCHED* - Page 2 - ZX Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 05:51 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
This is what I'm using for a diagram ... http://s1010.photobucket.com/albums/...er_media_share
lrayford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
JulesYoung's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
From: northumberland uk
I Ride: 1989 zxr750h1

Posts: 338
all the zx wiring diagrams are near enough the same , if everything else checks out good then i would be looking at the junction box
JulesYoung is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
JulesYoung's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
From: northumberland uk
I Ride: 1989 zxr750h1

Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrayford View Post
Problem is , this is a 2001 P model. It does not have relays under the headlight. Also it has 1 10 amp headlight fuse and not 2 in the box ugh ....
the relays will be on the lhs of the bike near the battery
JulesYoung is offline  
 
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 08:22 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
I'll have to look around the battery, right now the tank is off as well as the rear seats so the wiring is pretty accessible and I don't recall seeing any relays but like I said I will double check for them when I get off work (around 230 ) are they hidden under rear plastics? Can any body pin point these or gave a photo of the area ? Btw thanks Jules , very helpful
lrayford is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 08:40 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
Searching my phone (at work lol) the dealer does not list a headlight relay for my bike. Are you sure the P model has it the same as the pre 96 zx7's ?

Source : http://www.kawasakipartshouse.com/oe...ical-equipment
lrayford is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
JulesYoung's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
From: northumberland uk
I Ride: 1989 zxr750h1

Posts: 338
sorry i was sure ther,d be other relays for the lights but according to that diagram there is none apart from the one at the junction box .
so if the wiring , fuses + bulbs etc are good then that can only leave the junction box relay as a source of your problems
JulesYoung is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 11:18 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JulesYoung View Post
sorry i was sure ther,d be other relays for the lights but according to that diagram there is none apart from the one at the junction box .
so if the wiring , fuses + bulbs etc are good then that can only leave the junction box relay as a source of your problems

I read it's "not serviceable " but wonder how true that is? I want to make sure that's the problem before buying parts to throw at it.

When these relays go bad is it intermittent problems or just go at once ? Like I said this came out of the blue
lrayford is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-15-2013, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Joined: May 2012
From: Columbus, GA
I Ride: 2003 ZX7R

Posts: 548
If it's the relays you'd need to buy another junction box as they are built in and not replaceable. The fact that you're getting power to the bulb harness tells me that the relays are fine though. Maybe the bulb for your high beam went out? I would trace the grounds from the bulbs back to the respective ground point. Also, look on your wiring diagram, does the low beam and high beam signal go through the high/low switch control on the left handle bar? If so then that could be the culprit as well, maybe the contacts are bad or something is corroded.
SpeakerBox is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 04:46 AM
Senior Member
 
JulesYoung's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
From: northumberland uk
I Ride: 1989 zxr750h1

Posts: 338
back to basics ,before throwing parts at it check and recheck every connection with the meter for continuity and earth
power into relay , power out to switch
power to headlamps and main beam indicator from switch
you have a tail light , horn , indicators and it starts so most of your junction box is already good and you are getting power from the alternator [ the brown feed }
JulesYoung is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 07:47 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JulesYoung View Post
back to basics ,before throwing parts at it check and recheck every connection with the meter for continuity and earth
power into relay , power out to switch
power to headlamps and main beam indicator from switch
you have a tail light , horn , indicators and it starts so most of your junction box is already good and you are getting power from the alternator [ the brown feed }

true. whats crazy is on the diagram. the indicator on the dash has shares a ground with the rest of the gauge, but the rest of my gauge works. and the ground *(for just the high beam indicator the rest of the grounds in the main to the gauge s=go back to main )* branches off that main ground for the tach and grounds the headlights/high low ( with sub harness) and also to the horn switch and clutch switch (neutral light ) and all of that works

then the hot wire for that high beam indicator comes from the HIGH beam on the switch ( left bar) but i dont have 12 volts anywhere with the high beam selected

**EDIT**

Last edited by lrayford; 11-16-2013 at 07:54 AM.
lrayford is offline  
post #31 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 09:42 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
Update guys. With good bulbs (tested directly to battery )

Test with no bulbs plugged into headlight harness and low beam selected .. 12 volts at junction box and 12 all the way up to headlight plug..

Test with good bulbs 0v at headlight plug and .16-.18 (basically nothing at junction box)

Again no bulb plugged in system puts 12v to low beam ONLY (still no power for High)
Bulbs in = no volts anywhere ?

I'm thinking bad junction box/ relay inside??

Anybody?
lrayford is offline  
post #32 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 10:01 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
I'm ruling out a bad wire/ ground in the wiring bc it was on the stand (started and idle ) on that Thursday night , then without moving and still on the stand the next day Friday afternoon start with no lights so unless the little light goblin snuck into my garage that night and snipped a wire and knowing there is only 1 relay in the box and the switch I'm leaning towards box (as it has no high beam voltage and loses low beam with a complete circuit ??

I'm not an electrician by any means but that's all I can fathom.
lrayford is offline  
post #33 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
***SOLVED*** I was right it was the JUNKbox!! Just went to my local salvage guy and picked up one for 25 bucks problem solved! Thanks to all for the help !!!!
lrayford is offline  
post #34 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
JulesYoung's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
From: northumberland uk
I Ride: 1989 zxr750h1

Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by JulesYoung View Post
all the zx wiring diagrams are near enough the same , if everything else checks out good then i would be looking at the junction box
JulesYoung is offline  
post #35 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-16-2013, 12:24 PM
Presidentť of Whoring
 
LeeCig's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
From: just beyond your computer screen.
I Ride: 2002 ZX9R

Posts: 21,426
Garage
Thanks for posting the solution

Presidentť of Whoring
Sir Serious Zip-Tie Lovin, Pizza Thuggin, Blue Wafflin, ZX-9 Thrashin Post Whore Of ZXF

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92K1500 View Post
You win Lee.

I can't even form a response to that.
PM ME if your computer sucks!!!!!! (click here)
LeeCig is offline  
post #36 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-17-2013, 10:22 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2013
From: maryland

Posts: 19
Yeah apparently it was reading12v bc there was no load (when bulbs where out) then adding the load of the good bulb and it killed it. Again thanks to every one !!
lrayford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ZX Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome