Kawasaki ZX-14 2015, POWER and KTRC flash simultaneously - ZX Forums
 4Likes
  • 1 Post By bgmagma10
  • 2 Post By bgmagma10
  • 1 Post By 185EZ
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 06:17 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Aug 2018

Posts: 2
Kawasaki ZX-14 2015, POWER and KTRC flash simultaneously

Hello, Kawasaki ZX-14 ABS 2015, after switching the ignition switch to the ON position, the entire bottom line, POWER and KTRC, starts flashing on the display. KTRC is set to 2. It happened only two times but wonders what it can mean.
Thank you in advance for your help.
Steve99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 07:24 AM
EZ Rider
 
185EZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
From: Lake Havasu City,AZ USA
I Ride: 2014 ZX14R

Posts: 58,290
Garage
Does it run ok?
Have you done anything to the bike recently?
Have you checked battery grounds or all the ground wires that attach to frame?

December 2011 ROTM winner



Quote:
Originally Posted by massa222000 View Post
YOU'RE F - KING AWESOME!!!
185EZ is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-17-2018, 01:34 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Aug 2018

Posts: 2
Hello, thanks for your interest. Yes, everything is ok, the motorcycle fires and rides. Recently, the power cable (+) has loosened on the battery, the Check Engine light flashed twice and then did not want to start so I started checking and it turned out that the power cable is unscrewed from the battery.
Steve99 is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-24-2018, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Joined: May 2016
From: Denver, CO
I Ride: 2015 ZX14R

Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve99 View Post
Hello, thanks for your interest. Yes, everything is ok, the motorcycle fires and rides. Recently, the power cable (+) has loosened on the battery, the Check Engine light flashed twice and then did not want to start so I started checking and it turned out that the power cable is unscrewed from the battery.
I would guess it’s your wheel speed sensor. Both traction control and abs rely on your rear wheel speed sensor. This is a high res sensor that picks up off that disk that’s smaller than your brake rotor. Make sure all the connections are good.
TurboTJ is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2018, 04:36 PM
Newbie
 
Joined: Oct 2016

Posts: 26
I was riding on the Dragon today (it was slightly damp but I rode 250 miles in the pouring rain to get here) and the same thing happened.
TC and/or ABS light came on.
Then within moments the thing cuts power, check engine and another light comes on and it goes into a friggin limp mode. At some point I was able to change the TC setting from #1 where I always have it to the #2 setting. I turned the bike off.
Upon restart, the bike is running fine, it seams. However, all the lights and locked up screen are still flashing. There is the KTRAC shit across the bottom of the dash, and the ODO, and both trip meters are frozen. And the speedo quit as well.
I unplugged all the small fuses and put them back and unplugged the positive battery terminal for a minute or 2 and plugged it back in.
No change.

I have just over 15k trouble free miles on my 2016 ZX14R SE ABS. Is there a way to reset the system? Any ideas?

Thanks,
ominousone
ominousone is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-10-2018, 06:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Satan's Spawn's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
From: Hell's inner circle
I Ride: 05 ZX6R

Posts: 272
Depending on when you bought the bike, it may still be under warranty. Call your local dealer with the VIN number handy and ask them if it is. Kawasaki is great about warranty getting covered.
Satan's Spawn is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2018, 04:34 AM
Newbie
 
Joined: Oct 2016

Posts: 26
I bought the 3 year warranty, so I am hopingit would be covered. There is a Kawy dealer here in Alcoa/Knoxville and I'll stop there when the open and hope they can "hook me up" quickly. It's gonna be a perfect day to ride.

ominousone
ominousone is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2018, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
KoflaOlivieri's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2014
From: Philadelphia
I Ride: 2010 ZX-14

Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by ominousone View Post
I bought the 3 year warranty, so I am hopingit would be covered. There is a Kawy dealer here in Alcoa/Knoxville and I'll stop there when the open and hope they can "hook me up" quickly. It's gonna be a perfect day to ride.

ominousone
Keep us updated, and watch out for the hurricane.

Just Another Motorcycle - PhotoVlog Blog
Check out my blog @ https://koflaolivieri.blogspot.com/

2010 Kawasaki ZX-14
1984 Kawasaki GPz-1100
1978 Kawasaki KZ-1000 LTD
1977 Kawasaki KZ-1000
1975 Kawasaki Z1-900
1974 Kawasaki 750 H2 triple
1972 Kawasaki 750 H2 triple
KoflaOlivieri is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2018, 04:36 AM
Newbie
 
Joined: Oct 2016

Posts: 26
OK, the dealer worked with Kawasaki and tried a few different things. The end prognosis is the ECU. That will be overnighted from the Kentucky warehouse and I'll be back in business tomorrow. In the meantime, I rented a FZ6R and still having a great time with my 2 brothers and 84 year old dad. We've put on nearly 800 miles on the Dragon, Cherohala, Moonshiner 28 and much more. Most of that was on my ZX14, at least. The FX6 is a nice enough bike, I am grinding down the peg feelers on that, while I never touch anything on the ZX.

Ride safe,
ominousone
ominousone is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-13-2018, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
bgmagma10's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2015
I Ride: 2005 ZX-10R, 2012 ZX-14R

Posts: 224
If i remember right, take the main ground off. The bolt right on the outside of the battery box, take that off and let it set for 10 minutes. I haven't had that happen in years on mine but if i remember right, thats what i read to do and it worked for mine.
Strider likes this.

"Live to die happy" Matt Hoffman

My Youtube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4S...yMffEH7y8vq02g
bgmagma10 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-14-2018, 08:12 AM
Newbie
 
Joined: Oct 2016

Posts: 26
The new ECU showed up and guess what? Not the cure. So the mxc back on with Kawasaki who asked what mods and changes on the bike. Slip-ons, and 1 tooth down on rear. They said that the spkt is the problem. I had to leave the bike in Alcoa Good Times (who were pretty good to us). We had to be back in Chicago last night and back home in the Twin Cities, MN today. They will put on a stock spkt and see if that's the culprit. If it is, I may be on the hook for all the labor, plus shipping back home.
Kawasaki claims the gear ratios cannot be changed for any with KTRAC. Has anyone experienced any issues with gearing changes on the KTRAC bikes??

Thanks,
ominousone
ominousone is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-14-2018, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
bgmagma10's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2015
I Ride: 2005 ZX-10R, 2012 ZX-14R

Posts: 224
That is totally false. I had a 40 on the back on my 2012 when it had the stock ecu still and never had a problem. If anything it would be a problem with the speed sensor.
Chevy Fan Attic and Strider like this.

"Live to die happy" Matt Hoffman

My Youtube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4S...yMffEH7y8vq02g
bgmagma10 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-16-2018, 06:15 PM
EZ Rider
 
185EZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
From: Lake Havasu City,AZ USA
I Ride: 2014 ZX14R

Posts: 58,290
Garage
Rear or front sprocket changes or tire size won't affect the rear speed sensor
That's why they changed it from the primary gear driven speed sensor
Strider likes this.

December 2011 ROTM winner



Quote:
Originally Posted by massa222000 View Post
YOU'RE F - KING AWESOME!!!
185EZ is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-18-2018, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Joined: Feb 2014
From: west covina
I Ride: 2013 ZX 1400 R.

Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgmagma10 View Post
that is totally false. I had a 40 on the back on my 2012 when it had the stock ecu still and never had a problem. If anything it would be a problem with the speed sensor.
this !!!!!!!
Chevy Fan Attic is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
Joined: Oct 2016

Posts: 26
I have an update. I got my ZX14 back this last April. Stock size tires, stock spkts. Life was good all summer, over 3,000 miles. My bike now has around 23,000 miles on it total, the last couple thousand not showing up on the ODO cuz that quit working with this same issue at about 21k miles.

In Sept/2019, I put on new (stock size) tires AND put the 1 tooth lower rear Supersprox back on for our almost annual trip to the Dragon again. Rode 600 miles from my dad's, in Chicago area, to KNoxville, and a few more hundred around Knoxville, Deals Gap etc. Well wouldn't you f-n know it, the CODE 24 is back and the dash is acting crazy. It runs fine. Only the tach, gear indicator, gas guage, and clock (sort of?) work. I rode another couple hundred miles while down there and road back to dad's with this issue. I sure as hell wasn't gonna leave it in Knoxville again. My Escort 360 has GPS so I know how fast I am going, just not how far.... So, I've put well over 2,000 miles on it with this shit going on. Assuming this is the speed sensor again, where is a how-to tutorial? And I have tried to google and I see no clear youtube or??

My riding season is coming to a halt, so I'll address this over the loooooong coooold winter. I'll figure out what sensor(s) need to be replaced and do it.

If there is a moral to this story, I guess the bike likes the stock gearing??? It is just weird that it takes hundreds or thousands of miles before coming up with this issue.

Ride creatively,
ominousone

Last edited by ominousone; 10-11-2019 at 05:44 AM.
ominousone is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 06:37 PM
EZ Rider
 
185EZ's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
From: Lake Havasu City,AZ USA
I Ride: 2014 ZX14R

Posts: 58,290
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ominousone View Post
In Sept/2020,
I need you to tell me what stocks to buy lol

December 2011 ROTM winner



Quote:
Originally Posted by massa222000 View Post
YOU'RE F - KING AWESOME!!!
185EZ is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-11-2019, 05:45 AM
Newbie
 
Joined: Oct 2016

Posts: 26
Whoops. Edited to show 2019. I musta got ahead of myself.
ominousone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ZX Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome