carb/ram air questions : Kawasaki ZX Forums: Kawasaki Ninja Forum
» Sponsors
» Insurance
Go Back   ZX Forums > Kawasaki Motorcycles > ZX-9R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2013, 06:19 AM   #1 (permalink)

I Ride: 95 zx750 L3

carb/ram air questions

hi guys, im new to the 99 zx9r C1. i have a 95 zx-750.

anywho, do i need new float needles if i set the float height to 15mm but it doesnt flood at around 17.5mm?

second question. im trying the ram air mod on the zx9. was fairly easy on the zx7. but im getting some sputtering around 5k RPM. the setup right now is, the float vent hose is connected through the bottom of the air filter (drilled thru the air box and past the air filter) so it sits above in the clean air portion. all the holes are as tight as i can get them.

*another thing to note (might be the problem) but the hose connected to the float vent has a one way air flow ristrictor. meaning, air that would come through the air box to the floats but it wont come back out. Is that an issue?

thanks guys

edit*
factory pro kit
155 158 158 155
38 slow jet.
one piece exhaust. no brand on it. (so not sure if its aftermarket)
needle is 3rd clip down with a space under and above.

Last edited by valentinoh; 02-21-2013 at 04:56 PM. Reason: added pics
valentinoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-18-2013, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)

I Ride: 00 ZX-9r Lime Green 02 ZX-9r Lime Green, California E1 & F1 models, respectively

Hope this helps somewhat, since I have all of the bike's original emissions and float bowl equalization equipment.

I think what you're calling the RAM air mod is meant to be the fload-bowl mod, where you take the equalization tube coming up from the carbs and plumb it into the clean air side of the airbox, so that some of the snorkel and vacuum plumbing can be eliminated. I've heard a few do that and they seemed to think it worked out.