Thinking of buying a ZX-14, need opinions : Kawasaki ZX Forums: Kawasaki Ninja Forum
» Sponsors
» Insurance
Go Back   ZX Forums > Kawasaki Motorcycles > ZX-14 Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2008, 06:43 AM   #1 (permalink)

Thinking of buying a ZX-14, need opinions

First let me start off by saying hi

A little about myself. I have been riding for a little over 26 years now. My last sport bike was a 2001 Honda CBR 929RR. Loved the bike but was getting uncomfortable on 200+ mile rides. I have problems with my lower back. I parted with the bike a little over 2 years ago and have missed it since. While owning the 929RR I bought a Harley Davidson (HD) Soft ail Deuce in the summer of 2002 and since then have purchased a 2007 HD Road Glide (Bagger).

Over the past couple of months I have had my eye on ZX-14, BMW K1200S,Hayabusa, and the Concuors 14. I have tried to find a place that would rent the ZX-14 and have been unsuccessful in my searches. Sitting on the bike in the dealership with the salesman holding the front end for one minute tells me nothing. When I was looking at the HD Road Glide, I was also looking at the HD Street Glide. A four-hour rental on each bike was enough for me to make an educated decision.

I have narrowed the bike search down to the Zx-14 and BMW K1200S. The Hayabusa felt uncomfortable sitting on the bike ( I am 5'10" at 200lbs). The Concuors was boring to look at. I like the looks of the ZX-14 and the K1200S. The K1200S looks as though it will be eliminated due to lack of dealers and final drive problems. I work in law enforcement and all the motors drive BMW's. Several of them have experienced final drive failures and they just took delivery of 2008 bikes earlier in the year. To be fair they ride their bikes harder than a recreational rider would and they pile up the miles quick.

What am I looking for in the ZX-14:
- Better performance then my HD, I knew buying the HD that it would not be there but boy do I miss the power of my 929.