Drag racing advice!! ZX12R! - ZX Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-24-2014, 08:53 AM Thread Starter

Drag racing advice!! ZX12R!

I started riding last year and I finally stepped on the drag strip yesterday for the very first time. I ran 10.75 @ 138.5mph on my first pass and my best pass of the day was 10.588 @ 136.7mph. But im convinced the bike will run better since my launches were far from being perfect.

-Here is my question, how good will a bone stock ZX12R run at its full potential?

-And at what RPM's do you guys launch at? I was holding my rpm's steady in-between 3-4k... I personally think my biggest problem is letting the clutch go and get on the gas quick. I was pretty sloppy and im sure I lost time there.

-Also I was revving the bike all the way very near its 12500rpm red line in second and third gear. Some guy told me that I should have shifted early. He said that with my stock header power drops quickly at higher engine speeds. Is this true? Advice and tips would be greatly appreciated guys!

My 12R is pretty much stock except for K&N air filters and a Yoshi Slip on exhaust! (Stock header)

Last edited by RushAddict; 08-24-2014 at 02:01 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-24-2014, 03:21 PM

More details would assist; how much do you weigh? Gearing? Lowered? Rear tire pressure? What was your 60' and 880' etc?
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-24-2014, 04:15 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by chavcat View Post
More details would assist; how much do you weigh? Gearing? Lowered? Rear tire pressure? What was your 60' and 880' etc?

I weight 175, the bike has stock gearing, stock height and I was running 38psi in the back. Bike is pretty much bone stock.

Here's the info..!
Reaction time --> 0.764
60' --> 1.94
330' --> 4.80
594' --> 6.63
660' --> 7.04 @ 110.20mph
990' --> 8.90
1320' --> 10.579 @ 136.5mph