ZX9R Misfire Issues...... : Kawasaki ZX Forums: Kawasaki Ninja Forum
» Sponsors
» Insurance
Go Back   ZX Forums > ZX Forums > Mechanical & Technical

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-07-2009, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)

I Ride: 1998 ZX9R

ZX9R Misfire Issues......

Hello all,

I am a newbie here although I have been lurking for a little while. I am pretty new to bikes and about a year and a half ago I picked up a nice 1998 Zx9 with 17k on the clock. It was pretty flawless for the first year, but now I am having some major problems and don't know what I need to look at to fix it.

I started it one morning and noticed it smelled pretty rich and I was getting alot of smoke out of the exhaust. I figured it might need plugs so I pulled the tank/air cleaner assembly and low and behold, number 1 was black. All the other cylinders looked fine. I changed out the plugs and swapped coils for the heck of it between cylinders one and two. Same issue. Bought a set of used coils off ebay and still had the same issue in the same cylinder. I tried what I think is called an excitor.......also used from Ebay as the service manual said even with testing, it could still be bad. Same problem.

After all of that, a friend said it could be a carb with a stuck float or something. So, this weekend, I'd like to tear into the carbs and have a look around, hoping I might be able to fix this thing. How difficult is it on this bike and can I get carb rebuild kits anywhere? From what I have searched, it looks like I just dissasemble and clean them with some carb cleaner. I don't know a whole lot about bikes, but I am pretty good mechanically as I have fooled with cars almost all my life. I also prefer to fix it myself if possible. I'd also like to add I never beat the bike.....just a cruiser to me.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated as I miss my ZX9!

Thanks,

Tony
Rumblin70ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-07-2009, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)